The Sunday Nature Call, uke 37

The Sunday Nature Call, uke 37

I apologize for the tardiness of this week’s installment of The Sunday Nature Call. No excuse available, mea culpa.

Thomas Jefferson said the harder he worked, the more luck he seemed to have. I didn’t try to hard to see any new birds this week, and fittingly, I didn’t. Below is the bird not seen.

Dove of Disappointment (Galatian sex)

Speaking of birds not seen, the previously reported sighting of an Aythya marila was actually identified by a sharp-eyed reader as an immature male Aythya fuligula. Unbridled enthusiasm. Birders, like fisherman, are prone to such bouts of hope and excitement. I don’t have to apologize for that.

Below is a little photographic array about the transition of the seasons here.

Hail to thee Summer I will remember your warmth Death is not my choice

Hail to thee Summer
I will remember your warmth
Death is not my choice

Memories of leaves present

Memories of leaves present

Your future doesn't look so good

Your future doesn’t look so good

inside i am sweet

inside i am sweet

Sentinel Stone, sundown

Sentinel Stone, sundown

Looking ahead, looking up, and keeping my pencil sharp. -jlh

2 responses

  1. John-Thanks for the postcard with your blog site. I was surprised and gratified to hear from you. Your note upon my retirement was touching. I know it will take me time to read all your blogs, but I will. I read 9-13 and found it to be thoughtful, newsy, and insightful. Keep on keeping on, as they say. Katie Mulholland

    Like

    1. Thank you and welcome to Norway!

      Like

