Roving in Review: 2015

Roving in Review: 2015

IMG_3267

The 2015 segment of my Roving Scholar experience is in the books. I have written plenty of words about my time teaching in Norway thus far, so here are some numbers.

In 2015, this Roving Scholar:
-presented at 1 academic conference
-traveled to 13 of the 19 regions of Norway
-visited 25 different Norwegian high schools to present workshops for students and teachers
-spent 51 days teaching at Norwegian high schools
-conducted 104 workshops
-reached 2732 people

IMG_0829

Implicit in my title is travel, and boy did I ever. For a certifiable “homebody” in Iowa this has been a sea-change for me. According to my trusty spreadsheet my travels have totaled:
-5,542 kilometers in the air
-2,243 kilometers by local and regional bus
-2008 kilometers on trains
-976 kilometers by foot
-471 kilometers with city-rail
-and 5 hours on ferries

I do not have a car in Norway. All my transportation is done on Mass Transit. I have become quite fond of Mass Transit, in Norway it actually works.

One response

  1. What an adventure you have been on. Can’t believe all the schools you have had the opportunity to be at.

    Like

