The Sunday Nature Call, Uke 12: March is a long month

The Sunday Nature Call, Uke 12: March is a long month

Week 11 got a pass, I had a full week of teaching and then skied the Birkebeiner. I planned ahead of time not to write an installment. I needed my energy and focus elsewhere.

New birds, 5. Journey to date, 50

(Buteo buteo)

(Turdus pilaris)

(Frangilla coelebs)

(Troglodytes troglodytes)

Tjeld (Haematopus ostralegus)

IMG_8064

I hated March when I was a boy, it was the worst month. The snow was gone but the grass wasn’t growing, it was still too cold. The roads were coated in sand and grit from the winter, the April showers hadn’t yet washed them. To bicycle was to risk your skin on every corner. Besides, Mom and Dad wouldn’t take the bikes out of storage until April anyway.

Fishing? worthless or dangerous. The water was too cold for success with my spinning gear and any ice remaining was too thin for standing. Even I wasn’t that foolhardy. There was no hunting in March, plus the fields and forests were goo.

By March school was dragging and nothing was on TV. What did I do all those days? Heaven only knows how many video games I subject my poor eyes to. The cries of boredom must have been agony for my parents. Tis a pity that youth is wasted on the youth.

IMG_7988March is now among my favorite months. Oh the reasons abound like springtime optimism: The fever of gardening comes. The vernal equinox guarantees the arrival of summer. Mosquitoes, what mosquitoes? And birds.

My maturity and interest in most things avian have paralleled. I no longer look towards the March skies with derision. They are welcome old friends. Below is a poem/song I wrote taking inspiration from Rabbie Burns, the bard of Scotland.

 

The Ballad of March. Sing quickly

 

When you’re a little boy,

your worry is for toys.

But now that you’re a man,

live life as full as you can.

 

Ya give me 12 hours of day.

Ya give me 12 hours of night.

March is a long month,

but it feels just right!

 

The ice is thin,

the field are mud.

March may be an ugly child,

though can’t deny that it’s in my blood.

 

Ya give me 12 hours of day.

Ya give me 12 hours of night.

March is a long month,

but it feels just right!

 

Come Vernal wind,

come Vernal sun.

Your messengers have returned,

now it’s time to have some fun.

 

Ya give me 12 hours of day.

Ya give me 12 hours of night.

March is a long month,

but it feels just right!

 

A riot of color,

and a riot of of sound.

The storms and the birds from the god of war

make you wish to leave the ground.

 

Ya give me 12 hours of day.

Ya give me 12 hours of night.

March is a long month,

but it feels just right!

 

Thank you Mother Earth.

Thank you Father Time.

I see things more clearly now

in this world of mine.

 

Ya give me 12 hours of day.

Ya give me 12 hours of night.

March is a long month,

but it feels just right!

IMG_7992

Looking up, looking ahead, and keeping my pencil sharp.

